top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTristan Miedema

About Our Founder

Updated: May 13, 2020

Learn more from our founder, Tristan Miedema, MA.

Why did you create this website?


I created Teaching Trans Voices as an educational hub for voice teachers and students to learn more about the trans experience in the voice studio. I actually don't have much experience working with trans singers at all! I have a few trans colleagues, and as a member of the LGBT+ community myself, I've always been curious about the LGBT+ experience in the voice studio. I found myself searching for resources on trans singers and found my colleagues and professionals around me knew almost NOTHING about this field. I quickly noticed a huge gap in my education and have been exploring this topic culminating in the creation of this website. Thanks to Liz Jackson Hearns and Brian Kremer (see the Resources page), I had a great starting point. Also, a discussion with a doctor who often deals with trans voices exploring the opportunities of vocal training outside of speech-language pathology (SLP), which not all trans people can afford or have access to, really spurred my interests further.


How long have you been singing/teaching?


I've been singing as long as I can remember, but started choir in middle school and haven't stopped since. I actually started my undergrad degree in elementary education but my love for music quickly pulled me into a performance degree. I've been teaching on and off for about 6 years now. I just finished my masters in voice performance where I got to teach a studio of 18 undergraduate non-music major students—it was a BLAST. I've been in the show choir world, opera, musical theater, ensemble/choral, solo, concert, cross-over training, and CCM—I like to explore lots of musical styles. My career interests really are in trans voices as well as in cross-over technique for classical and musical theater singers (check out Cross-Training in the Voice Studio: A Balancing Act by Norman Spivey and Mary Saunders-Barton).

What are you interested in learning more about?


I'm interested in learning more about trans singers in the field today. I'm just not familiar with enough of them. For example, casting for shows can be a complex barrier in the performance field. Who can I turn to when my students ask if they can have success in this field after taking T or undergoing a vocal feminization surgery?

What advice do you have for teachers?


Our greatest tool is empathy. This can be a challenging and moral-questioning topic for some, and we must widen our world views and show our unwavering support for all students.


Bio


Tristan Miedema (he/him/his) is a singer, actor, and teacher from the midwest. He recently received his masters degree from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA under the direction of Dr. John Muriello, where he held a teaching assistantship instructing a studio of undergraduate singers weekly.


His musical career includes experience in ensembles, opera, studio vocals, musical theater, concert work, choral conducting, and show choir. Miedema is currently a Studio Vocal Artist for BMK Arrangements out of Chicago, Illinois.


Read more on his website, tristanmiedema.com.

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page